It has been a great decade for my favorite sports teams to say the least. Three Super Bowls for the Patriots, two World Series for the Red Sox, a championship for the Celtics, and a few years of domination in many sports for the Florida Gators. I am aware my favorite sports teams are among the top of the list when it comes to douchebag fans. And yes I am also aware many of these fans are trend fans and jort wearing Florida natives who never even went to college. For this reason, I am not as bothered as you'd think by the slow inevitable down swing in action for these franchises.
It has been a great run, The Pats, Celtics, and Red Sox are getting old. The Gators are in need of change, plus Tebow is gone. I've endured many heartbreaking years as fans of these teams and I am ready for more. But I see it as a necessary cycle to sift through the pricky thistle and hope that it becomes less trendy to follow these teams so that i can wear a hat with a B on it and avoid being judged by everyone as an automatic douche. Thinning of the douchebag herd, I welcome this process. If it takes a few sub par seasons for my fandom to become obscure again, so be it. If the Patriots must miss the playoffs for the humiliation of fake Boston accents speaking for us to cease, so be it. If I have to endure years of laughing and hate from Ohio State alum so that I can wear a blue Lacoste shirt and khaki shorts and Costa Del Mars and Sperry Topsiders without guilt, so be it. I love these teams and I'm tired of the douches making me look bad.
Bring on the lows and let the hop ons hop off, boil the fan nations down to a sticky reduction of what was always there, alcoholic, bearded, depressed loud people continuously working on suicide notes only to be saved by the other end of the cycle.
No comments:
Post a Comment